Shaffer Snares Western PA Sprint Championship at Mercer Raceway Park

Mercer, PA (August 24, 2014): The Steel City Outlaw, Tim Shaffer, is the Western Pennsylvania Sprint Car Champion. He earned the honor in the 25th running of the event at Mercer Raceway Park, which is minutes from his home in Aliquippa, PA. The four-time champ of the All Stars Circuit of Champions held off his protege, Danny Holtgraver, and The Wild Child, Jac Haudenschild. It was the second straight night that a local All Star made it to victory lane. The two-day event was presented by Bonnell’s Rod Shop, and it included a party with live music, a hog roast, and other activities to entertain the fans and to raise money for the injured driver relief fund.

Tyler Denochick, of Morrisdale, PA, quickly figured out the fast way around Mercer Raceway Park. He held off Michael Bauer to claim the win in the Bonnell’s Rod Shop Outlaw Sprint Warriors in just his second appearance at the track. Frankie Guidace made a three-wide pass of leader Shawn Fleeger and a lapped car to take the top spot in the Approved Toilet Rentals 358 Modifieds. The nightcap for the Penn Ohio Pro Stock Championship Series belonged to Shaun Fawcett, who inherited the lead after a spectacular tangle between the leaders, Curtis J. Bish and Randy Wyant on what would have been the final lap of the contest.
[Read more…]

Blaney Tops All Stars for First Mercer Win

Jones, McGinley, and Wyant also Win

Mercer, PA (August 23, 2014): Dale Blaney threw the monkey off his back. He won his first career Sprint Car race at Mercer Raceway Park, and it came against the All Stars Circuit of Champions Sprint Car Series. The win came on the first night of the 25th Annual Western Pennsylvania Sprint Car Championship presented by Bonnell’s Rod Shop. To get it, the nation’s winningest Sprint Car driver had to fight off the challenges of Jac Haudenschild.

C.J. Jones won his second straight race, and fourth of the season, in the Outlaw Sprint Warriors presented by Bonnell’s Rod Shop. After missing several events, J.R. McGinley returned to the Park and earned his second feature win of the season in the Approved Toilet Rentals 358 Modifieds. The silver bullet, Randy Wyant, prevailed in the finale for the Precise Racing Products Stock Cars, operating under the Open Stock rules.

[Read more…]

McKisson Scores at Mercer Raceway Park

Holden, Moore, Jones, Englert, and Longwell, Jr. also Prevail

Mercer, PA (August 16, 2014): Andy McKisson took advantage of a miscue by divisional rookie A.J. Flick to take the lead on lap 12, and then held off the youngster in the final laps to claim victory at Mercer Raceway Park in the 410 Sprints presented by Luxaire Heating & Cooling and McCrudden Heating & Supply. It was the veteran’s first win of the season after getting a late start on the action. The evening’s events, including bicycle races for the children, was made possible by Approved Toilet Rentals and Ray’s Racing Collectibles.

Jimmy Holden overtook the point leader, Kyle Fink, with three laps in the books, and went on to victory in the Approved Toilet Rentals 358 Modified feature. The win propelled Holden into the points lead by just four counters, with the double-point finale on September 6 looming on the horizon. In the Precise Racing Products Stock Cars, Rusty Moore cruised to his sixth win of the season in his quest for a fourth straight point championship. C.J. Jones ran out front through the entire contest for the Bonnell’s Rod Shop Outlaw Sprint Warriors. George Englert captured his fifth feature win in the Rock Concrete Modified Lites. Steve Longwell, Jr. wore the nightcap for the Mini Stocks running under the twin banners of Eperthener’s Auto Wrecking and Ray’s Racing Collectibles.
[Read more…]

King and Schneider Nab Touring Series Wins at Mercer

Feil and Englert also Prevail

Mercer, PA (August 10, 2014): When Rex King, Sr. took part in round one of the Smackdown! at Mercer Raceway Park back on July 12, his night did not go as he had hoped, as his was the first car to exit the race due to a lap one, turn one incident. Sunday night, he gained redemption for that, winning the twice-delayed Smackdown! night 2 event in the BRP Modified Tour feature.

Chris Schneider continued to enjoy his visits to Mercer Raceway Park, scoring the win in the inaugural visit of the Penn Ohio Pro Stock Championship Series. Andy Feil took the checkers in the Bonnell’s Rod Shop Outlaw Sprint Warriors, while George Englert closed out the night with yet another roof-flapping win in the Rock Concrete Mod Lites.

Rex King, Sr. was grateful for the win, and acknowledged that the car was “just hooked up tonight. I could go high or low, it didn’t matter.” And King did use every line on the track to out-duel Dave Murdick for the win, as the two cagey veterans waged battle for the entire race, first for positions as they moved towards the front, and then for the lead over the closing laps of the race.
[Read more…]

“Wheelman” Matus Rolls to Kekich Memorial Victory

Gabany, Bova, Miller and Darocha also Score

Mercer, PA (August 9, 2014): “Wheelman” is one of several nicknames belonging to third generation driver Brandon Matus, and he showed everybody why he claims that moniker. He held off a couple of furious challenges from Adam Kekich and scored his first 410 Sprint Car feature at Mercer Raceway Park in the Putsy Kekich Memorial sponsored by Sunburst Environmental & Bonnell’s Rod Shop. It was his second triumph of the weekend and it came just one day after he celebrated his 20th birthday with a win at another local track.

In the Approved Toilet Rentals 358 Modifieds, Eric Gabany ran a strong race, and benefited from two different leaders breaking while out front, to score his third win of the season. Cody Bova took his second win of the season in the Bonnell’s Rod Shop Outlaw Sprint Warriors. Gary Miller scored an inspirational win in the Precise Racing Products Stock Cars. The nightcap for the Rock Concrete Modified Lites was won by Jason Dracocha for his first Mercer Raceway Park victory. Because of the special event status of the program, no points were awarded in any of the divisions.

[Read more…]